## Weed Science

## www.cambridge.org/wsc

## Editorial

Cite this article: Vencill WK (2025). Editorial for Weed Science, Volume 73. Weed Sci. doi: 10.1017/wsc.2024.89

Received: 25 October 2024

**Associate Editor:** Not applicable

**Corresponding author:** 

William K. Vencill; Email: wvencill@uga.edu

## Editorial for Weed Science, Volume 73

William K. Vencill @

Professor and Editor, Department of Crop and Soil Sciences, University of Georgia, Athens, GA, USA

This editorial heralds some substantial changes to the journal *Weed Science*. As of January 1, 2025, *Weed Science* is a fully open access journal. Going open access should allow wider distribution of the content published in the journal and is becoming a requirement for granting agencies. The first thing you will notice is that the journal will have continuous publication without regular issues being released.

After a couple of years of lower submission, submissions were up almost 46% in 2024 over 2023. From October 1, 2023, to September 30, 2024, there were 226 submissions to *Weed Science*. I saw a continuing trend of more reviews being submitted to *Weed Science* this past year. Within the same time frame, *Weed Science* received 25 reviews, up from 12 in the previous year. The journal will continue to seek to publish more reviews and articles related to symposia.

Weed Science has many goals as a journal. The primary goal is to publish high-quality research from authors. Another goal is to make the publication process as efficient as possible, and that includes constant efforts to reduce the time from submission to publication, as these are career-defining points for authors. I usually point out the time from submission to first decision in these editorials. However, I would like to present data on more of the publication process this year. For the year before October 1, 2024, it took an average of 5.5 days from submission to reviewers being invited to review, and 16.2 days for reviews to be completed. The time from submission to first decision was 41.9 days. The time from submission to publication is favorable when compared with other society-based publications. The acceptance rate for the past year was 65.7%.

I also know the impact factor for journals is important to many authors. The *Weed Science* impact factor has been relatively flat the past 3 years. For 2023, *Weed Science* had an impact factor of 2.1. The decline can be attributed to fewer articles published in 2022 and 2023. The 5-year impact factor was 2.5 for 2023.

For the year preceding October 1, 2024, the journal depended on 213 unique reviewers. The excellent reputation of the journal would not be possible without the cutting-edge research submitted by authors and the diligent work of the editorial board and the hundreds of referred reviews that are submitted annually. I wish to thank the members of the editorial board and reviewers for 2024.

© The Author(s), 2025. Published by Cambridge University Press on behalf of Weed Science Society of America. This is an Open Access article, distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution licence (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/), which permits unrestricted re-use, distribution and reproduction, provided the original article is properly cited.





Editorial Board 2024

Muthukumar V. Bagavathiannan

Nicholas Basinger Nathan S. Boyd

Caio Brunharo

Ian Burke

Carlene Chase

Bhagirath Chauhan

Sharon Clay

Jose L. Gonzalez-Andujar

Greta Gramig Timothy L. Grey

Prashant Jha

Mithila Jugulam

Vipan Kumar

Gulshan Mahajan

Sara Martin

Christopher Preston

Dean Riechers

Hilary A. Sandler

Debalin Sarangi

Shaun Sharpe

Lovreet Singh Shergill

Patrick J. Tranel

Te-Ming Paul Tseng

John M. Wallace

Martin M. Williams II

Weed Science Reviewers 2024

Julie Abendroth

Albert Adjesiwor

Muhammad Saiful Ahmad-Hamdani

Edith B. Allen

Vijaya Bhaskar Alwarnaidu Vijayarajan

James V. Anderson

Lars W. J. Anderson

Neil O. Anderson

Jeanine Arana

Francisco J. Arriaga

Jeffrey L. Atkinson

Albert O. Ayeni Matt Anthony Bahm

Joanna Bajsa-Hirschel

Barbara Baraibar Padro

Diego Batlla

Shawn C. Beam

Brent Wade Bean

Aaron Becerra-Alvarez

Roger L. Becker

Roland Beffa

Clint Beiermann

Mark L. Bernards

Laura Berrios-Ortiz

Thierry E. Besançon

Lucas Kopecky Bobadilla

Louis Gregory Boddy Ednaldo A. Borgato

Catherine Borger

Richard L. Boyce

Simon Brooks

James T. Brosnan

John Tyler Buol

Mac Burgess Erin Burns

Ana Claudia Buzanini

Holly P. Byker

Shane Douglas Campbell

Andrea Cavalieri

Rakesh S. Chandran

Raghavan Charudattan

Sushila Chaudhari

Deepika Chauhan

Guoqi Chen

Ali Asghar Chitband

Jed B. Colquhoun

Jeanaflor Crystal Tahir Concepcion

Sarah Cook

Drake Copeland

Roberto Javier J. Crespo

Matthew Anthony Cutulle Renata Thaysa da Silva Santos

Christos Damalas

Oleg Daugovish

James DeDecker

Chetan K. Desai

Het Samir Desai

Sachin Dhanda J. Anita Dille

David Lee Dornbos Jr.

John Doudna

Filiz Erbaş David Ervin

Francisco Javier Espinosa-García

Alyssa Essman

Peter M. Eure

Wesley J. Everman

Samuel Aanuoluwapo Fasusi

Mike Fidanza Rodrigo Figueroa

Michael L Flessner

(Continued)

Weed Science 3

(Continued)

Silvia Fogliatto Todd A. Gaines Liberty Baker Galvin Nalin Gama-Arachchige Zahoor A. Ganie Gurjeet S. Gill Thomas K. Gitsopoulos Amar S. Godar Navdeep Godara Danica Goggin Robin Gomez Clebson G. Gonçalves Prabhu Govindasamy Jiuxin Guo Purushottam Gyawali Ryan C. Hamberg Erin R. Haramoto Nick T. Harre **Howard Harrison** Pieter-Willem Hendriks **Gerald Matthew Henry** Erin C. Hill David P. Horvath Verónica Hoyos Cynthia Huebner Deniz Inci Lynn Ingegneri Suphannika Intanon Xiaojun Jin Joe Johnson Eric A. L. Jones David L. Jordan Nimmy Jose Anestis Karkanis Simerjeet Kaur Dylan Kerr Do-Soon Kim Nicholas E. Korres Jeremie Kouame Vipan Kumar Martin Laforest Christopher Allen Landau Olivia Landau Deying Li Ginger G. Light Rui Liu Donato Loddo Mark M. Loux Carolyn J. Lowry Drew J. Lyon Ameena M Gregory MacDonald Albino Maggio Clint Magill Cristian Malavert Mayank S. Malik Carol A. Mallory-Smith Buddhi Marambe Pamela Marrone Sithin Mathew Maor Matzrafi James D. McCurdy Andrew G. McKenzie-Gopsill Fabian Daniel Menalled Mohsen B. Mesgaran Stephen L. Meyers Muhamad Shakirin Mispan David Monks Marcelo L. Moretti Huong Nguyen Nebojša Nikolić Dennis Calvin Odero

(Continued)

(Continued)

Sara Ohadi Nawaporn Onkokesung Albert J. Orgeron **Daniel Owens** Eric Robert Page Santosh Pandey Balaji Pandian Jinesh D. Patel Ronald Edward Peachey Paweł Petelewicz Cristiano Piasecki Kristina Polziehn Karthik Putta Jamal R. Qasem Sandeep Singh Rana Ashish Ranjan Dawn Refsell Dilpreet Singh Riar Nilda Roma-Burgos Marvin E. Ruffner Joyful Tatenda Rugare Debalina Saha Néstor E. Saldain Ravneet Kaur Sandhu Brian J. Schutte David R. Shaw André Felipe Moreira Silva Mandeep Singh **Navjot Singh** Reid J. Smeda Richard G. Smith Gayle J. Somerville Yao-Bin Song Grégory Sonnier Lynn Sosnoskie Tracy M. Sterling Harry John Strek Nithya Subramanian Estéfani Sulzbach François J. Tardif Breanne D Tidemann Joel Torra Farré Mauricio Tosin Ilias S. Travlos Nnanna Unachukwu Dhanu Unnikrishnan Mark VanGessel Aruna Varanasi Rohith Vulchi Changling Wang Sarah Ward Isabel Schlegel Werle Anna Sophia Westbrook Scott Neil White Christian J. Willenborg Ana Paula Werkhausen Witter Alice Ann Wright Shawn Wright Dong-Hong Wu Ramawatar Yadav Inacio Yano Carla Yerkes Jialin Yu

Can Zhao