Special Announcements

Special Announcements

American Committee to promote Studies of the History of the Habsburg Monarchy

Austrian Ministry of Education Scholarships

The Austrian Ministry for Science and Research will grant a limited number of scholarships for the academic year 1974-1975 to American graduate students now working on doctoral dissertations or other research projects in the field of Austrian history. The grants cover only the cost of tuition and maintenance for one person and may not be used to supplement a stipend received from another scholarship or fellowship. Holders of these scholarships are expected to be in residence at an Austrian university and should have a good command of the German language.

Candidates wishing to apply should send a letter of application, together with transcripts, letters of recommendation, and an outline of their research project, directly to William A. Jenks, Department of History, Washington and Lee University, Lexington, Virginia 24450. The deadline for applications is November 15, 1973.

Personnel

On December 28, 1971, at the business meeting of the Conference Group for Central European History, Peter Brock, of the University of Toronto, was elected to succeed Charles Jelavich, of Indiana University, as a member of the American Committee to promote Studies of the History of the Habsburg Monarchy. The other members of the committee are Istvan Deak, of Columbia University; William A. Jenks (executive-secretary), of Washington and Lee University; Enno E. Kraehe, of the University of Virginia; R. John Rath, of Rice University; Wayne S. Vucinich, of Stanford University; and Piotr S. Wandycz, of Yale University.

Washington and

WILLIAM A. JENKS

Lee University

Executive Secretary

American Association for the Study of Hungarian History
At its third annual meeting in New Orleans on December

29, 1972, the American Association for the Study of Hungarian History decided to award a \$100.00 prize every two years for an article on Hungarian history published by a junior historian in a United States or Canadian journal. The prize will be offered for the first time for an article published in 1971-1972. The award will be announced at the next annual business meeting in December, 1973. Istvan Deak, of the Institute on East Central Europe at Columbia University, was selected as chairman of the awards committee. Interested persons should get in touch with him.

Montclair State College

PETER PASTOR

Conference Group for Central European History

On the evening of December 28, 1971, Andreas Dorpalen, of Ohio State University, was elected chairman of the Conference Group for Central European History. Hans Rosenberg, of the University of California (Berkeley), was elected vice-chairman; and Harold J. Gordon, of the University of Massachusetts, member of the executive board. The executive board of the Conference Group is now composed of the above officers and Robert G. L. Waite (the secretary-treasurer), of Williams College; Gordon A. Craig, of Stanford University; Paul W. Schroeder, of the University of Illinois; and Douglas Unfug, of Emory University.

Austrian History Yearbook

The next issue of the Yearbook (Vol. IX-X [1973-74]) will be ready for distribution during the latter part of 1974. Among other things, it will include sections on the Hungarian military frontier, Hungarian and Ukrainian historical writings, Karl Marx's views on the nationality program in the Habsburg monarchy, nineteenth century intellectual, religious, and diplomatic history, and the First Austrian Republic. In addition, there will be the usual bibliographical, book review, and news sections.