MRS reports election results for 2012

embers of the Materials Research N Society have elected one officer and five directors to join the 2012 MRS Board of Directors. The board is composed of the officers and 12 to 21 directors, 25% of which may be appointed. The officers of the Society are the president, the vice president (who is also the president-elect), the secretary, the treasurer (a position appointed by the Board of Directors), and the immediate past president. Terms of office expire at the end of the year indicated in parentheses. The asterisk (*) designates those who are newly elected. The annual election ended October 19, 2011.

The Board of Directors is organized into the following governing committees: Planning, Operational and Strategic Oversight, External Relations, and Governance. The president, who serves as chair of the board, appoints each of the directors and officers to one of the first three governing committees, and designates the chairs of these committees.

In this year's election, MRS members have ratified the simplified, condensed version of the MRS Bylaws, previously known as the MRS Constitution, as well as an updated version of the Articles of Incorporation. The Board's decision to propose changes was predicated by opinions of legal counsel who endorsed streamlining, renaming, and updating the previous documents. The Board approved the proposed changes last fall, because it felt that the new documents were clearer and simpler than the previous Constitution/Bylaws, and will be easier to read and understand. These documents are now formally adopted.

Articles of Incorporation: Changes to this document were "housekeeping" items in nature, that is, correcting the address of the MRS Headquarters and removing redundant text describing the purpose of the organization, which was contained elsewhere.

Constitution: This document was renamed the MRS Bylaws and the language was streamlined. All items in the previous constitution which were member-voted remain so in the new Bylaws, and any issue that was previously Boardvoted remains so, but now as policy captured in the MRS Policy Manual. The new MRS Bylaws are available on the MRS website at www.mrs.org.

2012 MRS Officers

President Bruce M. Clemens Stanford University

Immediate Past President James J. De Yoreo Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Vice President (President-Elect) *Orlando Auciello

Argonne National Laboratory

Secretary Sean J. Hearne Sandia National Laboratories

Treasurer Michael R. Fitzsimmons Los Alamos National Laboratory

2012 Board of Directors

Wade Adams (2012) Rice University

Ana Claudia Arias (2013) University of California–Berkeley

*Shenda Baker (2014) Synedgen, Inc./Harvey Mudd College

Tia Benson Tolle (2012) Air Force Research Laboratory

Duane B. Dimos (2013) Sandia National Laboratories

*Chang-Beom Eom (2014) University of Wisconsin–Madison

*Eric Garfunkel (2014) Rutgers University

J. Murray Gibson (2012) Northeastern University MRS

Oliver Kraft (2013) Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Hideki Matsumura (2013) Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (JAIST)

*Ainissa Gweneth Ramirez (2014) Yale University

*Stephen K. Streiffer (2014) Argonne National Laboratory

Susan E. Trolier-McKinstry (2013) Pennsylvania State University

Pierre Wiltzius (2012) University of California–Santa Barbara



