Conference on Current Approaches to Syntax



Where University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee

When

March 15-17, 1979

Purpose

To examine systematically **a**/how approaches to syntax can differ in principle; **b**/how some of the current approaches in fact differ; and **c**/what evidence, if any, might bear on the evaluation of distinct approaches.

Primary speakers

Representatives of 14 current syntactic approaches have been invited. These are: Michael Brame, Robin Cooper, Simon Dik, William Foley, Linda Jones, Michael Kac, Susumo Kuno, Gaorge Lakoff, David Lightfooot, James McCawley, David Perlmutter, Gerald Sanders, Paul Schachter, William Sullivan, Robert Van Valin. Discussion, initiated by invited discussants, will follow each paper. Following the papers there will be a final paper given by Robert Stockwell comparing and evaluating the approaches presented.

The conference is sponsored by the National Science Foundation.

For further information, write to

Syntax Conference Department of Linguistics University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53201 Please include zip or postal code information in your return address



Our Contributors Nos Collaborateurs

MONIQUE BÉLANGER est chercheur au Centre d'études francoontariennes de l'OISE.

MICHAEL CANALE is a Research Project Director at the Office of Research and Development, OISE.

STEVEN ITUEN is a graduate student at the Modern Language Centre, OISE.

RAYMOND MOUGEON est directeur de projet de recherche et professeur au Centre d'études franco-ontariennes de l'OISE.

MARC PICARD est professeur de linguistique à l'Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières.

DR. RÜDIGER SCHREYER is Akademischer Oberrat at the Institut für Anglistik, Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule, D-51 Aachen, Federal Republic of Germany.

H. STEPHEN STRAIGHT is Director of the Linguistics Program and Assistant Professor in the Department of Anthropology at the State University of New York at Binghamton.

TRACY D. TERRELL is Assistant Professor of Linguistics and Spanish at the University of California, Irvine.

THE CANADA COUNCIL makes the publication of this journal possible through its grants.